Austinite approved

I love this Austin food guide from Love and Lemons – Read it here 

Since Austin is my hometown, people taking a weekend trip to Texas’ best city often ask me where to eat and what to do in Austin. Love and Lemons provides a conference guide, for people staying in Austin for a short amount of time, which I like, because it’s a “what you can’t miss” type of post and it mentions some of my favorite restaurants and activities.

Elizabeth street cafe is a must. This adorable house-turned-cafe has my favorite pho and Vietnamese coffee in Austin.

Second bar + grill is delicious. I love love love guacamole and they serve warm guacamole with chorizo and house-made chips. It is amazing. Please go.

I like that she mentions Rainey street for drinks. It’s much more low-key than 6th street – not your crazy college scene at all. All the bars are outside and there are local food trucks for late-night cravings. Rainey is where you find the real Austin crowd and it’s so much fun.

I grew up on Amy’s ice cream. It is the Austin ice cream joint. Mexican bourbon vanilla is to die for.

I do wish that she mentioned Mozart’s though, because it’s one of my favorite coffee joints in Austin. Located on Lake Austin, it’s the perfect place to sit outside, sip on a chai lattes and watch the sunset. It’s a little bit outside of downtown, but definitely a place worth stopping by.

Town lake is another must. My typical day at home consists of paddle boarding or kayaking on the lake, running the trail and grabbing smoothies at Juiceland or acai bowls and Blenders and Bowls (another must-try).

Ah, can I go home?

Enjoy Austin!

 

Leave a Reply

